Gourmet Magazine and Food Photography

October 7, 2009

I’ve been thinking about what the end of Gourmet means for us food photographers.  We’ll surely continue to have our commercial work.  But who will be around to celebrate the quiet beauty of, for example, this quince which appeared on a recent cover?

gourmet-cover-september-2009-small1

Today’s Boston Globe featured a piece about Gourmet on their editorial page.  The Globe has been very kind to me over the years, but the editorial reminded me of the saying that people who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones.  Take a look at http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/editorial_opinion/editorials/articles/2009/10/07/gourmet_magazine_1941_2009_a_recipe_for_obsolescence/

We know that whatever sells is bound to survive.  As photographers and stylists, let’s also remember that quince and do our share to keep art alive.

2 Responses to “Gourmet Magazine and Food Photography”

  1. Rena said

    I think you’ve got it right with the glass houses… how bizarre. I hope that wasn’t lost on the Editorial staff.

    I loved that Gourmet brought me along with “the globe-trotting gentry,” enabling me to learn from others’ experiences. Who will open my world and senses now, when I cannot afford the travel myself? Where will I find food politics in a glossy package that can be perused on the T?

    Please keep one eye on the quince!

  2. Jen said

    Rena said much of what I was thinking. Gourmet allowed me to dream big, to learn about beautiful food and the places and people that grow and make it, even when that food and those places were far beyond my budget and schedule. There is nothing on the market that truly fills that void. Heartbreaking.

    Marlo passed your portfolio site on to me as she’s researching food photographers for an upcoming project, and I stumbled over here from there. Your work is really lovely – I hope we get to work with you at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

