Back home in Boston

September 17, 2009

It’s good to be back.  Things I’ve learned from this cycling and camping experience – I can ride 75+ miles in a day, day after day; I can get along with (and enjoy) 13 complete strangers; time on the bike is a great time to think; you don’t really NEED that many sets of clothes; and when it gets dark, go to sleep!  So here are some more images, now that I’ve been able to sort them out.

01_biketrip

Taking a rest for lunch. That's a 3-story high sand dune in the back.

03_biketrip

06_biketrip

04_biketrip

When we weren't hugging the coast, much of the road looked like this.

05_biketrip

07_biketrip

In the Redwood forests, a tunnel through the trees

In the Redwood forests, a tunnel through the trees. This was our only rainy day.

09_biketrip

Starts to look like the south of France, non?

Finally at the Golden Gate!  Yep, I was on a bus for this part of the journey.

Finally at the Golden Gate! Yep, I was on a bus for this bit of the journey.

It feels odd not to be riding so much any more.  I’m waiting for my bike, shipped via UPS, to get back here.  And already thinking about where I want to plan my next trip.  It will be closer to home, and will probably involve staying at motels instead of camping.

Leave a Reply

